Minutes : 1789-1794, 1808-1843.

Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LPR .N6C6S4C8M5
Category: Nova Scotia
Creator: Nova Scotia. Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace (Cumberland County).
Description: 1 microfilm textual records (3 volumes) ; 35 mm
            Cumberland County was one of the original five counties into which Nova Scotia was divided on August 17, 1759, by order of the Governor and Council.  The Court of General Sessions for Cumberland County met at Amherst.  The territory included the Townships of Amherst, Fort Lawrence, River Philip, Elysian Fields, Napan (Nappan) and Macan (Maccan), Ramsheg, Westchester and River Hebert.
            The records of the Court include lists of Grand Jury members and the cases, including evidence and decisions, which came before the Court.  Included, as well, are lists of office holders, arranged by township, who were selected for their positions by the Sessions Court from names proposed by the Grand Jury. The minutes record numerous petitions from individuals; requests for payment for services rendered; a record of public expenditures in the various townships, often for roads and bridges; and many other documents.

Originals: The original records are held by the Public Archives of Nova Scotia.
Archival Ref. No.: PANS RG 34-309, Series P, vols. 1, 2, and part of 3.
Finding Aids:
            An inventory description is available.
Electronic Finding Aid Record:
Notes: The typed reference at the beginning of the reel is not completely accurate.

Place names are spelled as they appear in the original record.

Part Of:
Other With: