Minutes : 1791-1831.

Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LPR .N6C6S4H3M5
Category: Nova Scotia
Creator: Nova Scotia. Court of General Quarter Sessions of the Peace (Halifax County).
Description: 3 microfilm textual records (10 volumes) ; 35 mm
            Halifax County was first established by Order-in-Council on August 17, 1759 and included all that part of peninsular Nova Scotia not within the boundaries of the other four counties - Annapolis, Kings, Cumberland and Lunenburg.  In 1784, Shelburne County and Sydney County were established, the latter being formed out of a part of Halifax County.   In 1835, Colchester and Pictou Counties were formally established as Counties after having been Districts of Halifax County.
            The Loyalist Collection holds microfilm copies of only the first ten volumes of Series P, Proceedings of the Courts of General Sessions and Grand Jury Books, for Halifax County.  The Minutes include a Grand Jury Room Book and a detailed record of the proceedings which came before each sitting of the Court.

Originals: The original records are held by the Public Archives of Nova Scotia.
Archival Ref. No.: PANS RG 34-312, Series P, vols. 1-9 and part of 10.
Finding Aids:
            An inventory description is available in print.
Electronic Finding Aid Record:
Notes: The typed description at the beginning of the reel is not accurate.
Part Of:
Other With: