Registry Records : 1792-1834.

Call Number: HIL-MICL FC LPR .N4L3W4R4
Category: New Brunswick
Creator: New Brunswick. Land Records (Westmorland County).
Description: 4 microfilm textual records (12 volumes) ; 35 mm
            The original five parishes of Westmorland County were old townships of Nova Scotia which were adopted with their original boundaries in 1785.  The parishes were:  Westmorland (including the New Brunswick portion of Cumberland), Sackville, Hopewell, Hillsborough, and Moncton.  Dorchester, Salisbury and Botsford were added later to complete the county.  The lands that became Albert County were included in Westmorland County until 1845.            
            Deeds and mortgages make up the vast majority of land transactions in the early Westmorland County records. However, other documents can be found including: memorial of a judgement;  assignment of mortgage; deed of partition agreement; release of mortgage;  power of attorney;  last will and testament; and others.
Originals: Copies of the original records are held at the Registrar's Office, PO Box 5001, 633 Main Street, 3rd floor, Moncton Place, Moncton, New Brunswick, E1C 9X9.
Archival Ref. No.: Provincial Archives of New Brunswick RS 97 (microfilm copy).
Finding Aids:
            An index by name of grantor and grantee is available on one microfilm reel.  The dates of the index are 1785-1858. A microfilm shelf list is available in print.
Electronic Finding Aid Record: NB Land Records (Westmorland County) Shelf List.pdf
Part Of:
Other With: